Click here to listen to Thome FM Live


The Catholic Diocese of Kitui (Kitui county) borders the Catholic Archdiocese of Mombasa (Taita Taveta) to the South, the Catholic Diocese of Machakos (Makueni and Machakos Counties) to the west, the Catholic Diocese of  Embu (Embu County),the Catholic Diocese of Meru (Tharaka), the Catholic Diocese of Isiolo (Isiolo County) to the North, and the Catholic Diocese of Garissa (Garissa and Tana River Counties) to the East.

Socio-economic features

Kenya is categorized as a low-income country with GDP of USD 41 billion and growing moderately at 5% and with a gross national income (GNI) per capita of USD 860. The population was estimated by World Bank to be 43 million people by 2013.

The development path in Kenya is being guided by the blueprint Vision 2030, which is built on three main pillars; Economic, Social and Political. The Economic Pillar aims to achieve growth in the Gross Domestic Product of 10 percent from 2012 targeting this growth to be driven by tourism, agriculture, wholesale/retail trade, manufacturing, Information Technology enabled services, and financial services. The Social Pillar of Vision 2030 has the objective of improving the quality of life for all Kenyans. It aims to do this by targeting human and social welfare programs, specifically: education and training, health, environment, housing and urbanization, children and social development, youth and sports. Development operations of Catholic Diocese of Kitui  will supplements the efforts of the county government as guided by the Kitui CIDP (County Integrated Development Plan) framework.